tiistai 23. lokakuuta 2018

JOB WELL DONE

Hey guys!

Today I'm gonna tell you about one of the times I felt most accomplished in my life. 

Most recent one has to be my finals week when I studied becoming a hairdresser. We had three and a half days to show our skills to the people who evaluate our work. Which meant we had to find people in our lives to be our models. Luckily I wasn't struggling with that. We had to show the judges: how we dye and cut the hair, perm the hair, do two different makeup looks, shave two beards with a razor. You know the one like in Sweeney Todd with less of the blood of course. We had to do different hairstyles and lastly dye the models eyebrows and lashes. Basically everything we learned in our 18 weeks of school. And also we had two tests. How we served in English and in Swedish. Let's just say that I passed the Swedish one. But I don't say it went well.

Being very critical to myself I was very stressed out. Even though we did all those things almost daily there. I knew what I needed to do but I was doubting myself a lot. Day before the finals I didn't hear anything from one of my models and I was so stressed. I texted him and even his girlfriend. All I could think was: "if I don't graduate because of him I swear to god I'm pissed!" Finally he texted me back I could breathe again. 

First day of the examination: I had my friend and my mom as models. For my friend I shaved his beard and did a perm to his hair. I also did a perm to my moms hair and then dyed it and did her a everyday makeup look. I didn't have that much experience in perms but I was on the mindset: "as long as I don't fail I'm good". From 1 out 3 while 3 being the the best I got 1 on my perms but hey at least got through. 

Day two: I had my best friend and my brother with me. For my bestie I did some highlights and cutted her a short bob. I also did her a evening makeup look. That went really well and we we're both very pleased. As for my brother I tinted his hair a little bit more brown and cutted it shorter. The usual. I got 2 of 3 on those jobs. 

Final day: I had my boyfriend and one of my friends there. For my boyfriend I did some highlights on the top of his head. (I was very surprised that he was cool with it!) We had this category in our examination which I could call a style assignment. For the model we had to dye the hair, give a haircut and do a hairdo. And do his/hers makeup. And also decide the event what the model is attending and pick an outfit for that. And my boyfriend was the lucky one. When I was washing his hair and ready to tint the highlight with the dye I had chosen many weeks ago I saw that the highlights turned very VERY yellow. You could say my face looked like the wide-eye emoji. So I had to figure out a new mix of colors to make it okay. So I threw maybe three colors together and putted in his hair and just hoped for the best while I did some touch ups on his face. I'm still not that good evaluating the hair color while it's wet. So I decided to dry his hair immediately. When the judges came to look at my work I was so stressed knowing I almost fucked it up. But they loved it and I got 3 of 3 and I was so relieved. After my boyfriend left my friend came and I started doing her hair. I did her a little balayage and curled her hair. I was pretty confident about my balayge cause I had heard teachers saying that I was one of the best ones in our group.

 Everything went well and after taking the picture of her hair I was done. I had done everything that I learned in 18 months. I stayed for a while to hear my final results so I didn't have to come back tomorrow. And after the evaluation I was a hairstylist. I felt so accomplished. I had no words to describe how happy I was after that day. 

After 18 weeks of intense studying. Traveling between Lahti and Helsinki almost everyday (it takes an hour by train). Barely had time a day to do anything beside school it was all done. It flew by so quickly. During the 18 weeks I shaved my head (that is a blog post for an another day). I moved to a new city. And sometimes I was thinking is this worth it. But it totally was. After surviving those 18 months I feel like I can survive anything. 

But that was one of the times in my life I felt very accomplished. What's yours?

- Johanna

maanantai 22. lokakuuta 2018

SCORPIO GIRL

Hey guys!

Today I'm gonna talk about my horoscope and does its traits match me and my personality. I have studied my horoscope from time to time and it's interesting to see how accurate some things are. For todays post I'm mostly gonna refer this site. I know there are tons off pages about astrology and different interpretations. 

So, I'm born on November 7th  at 07:47 in the morning. (Fun fact: me and my brother are born at the same time of the day.) So that makes me a scorpio. 

At Astrostyle they have listed every star signs favorite things and what they hate. Last night I was talking with by best friend about them and found out at her horoscope had some accurate things also. Also I checked some other star signs to see if they are accurate. They say that aquariuses (if that is how it's spelled) like computer programming. Guess what, my boyfriend likes programming and he is an aquarius. 

"Favorite Things: Underground music, spicy food, an air of danger, one-of-a-kind objects, wireless devices, organic ingredients, vinyl
What You Hate: Simple-minded people, insincere flattery, personal questions, living at someone else’s house"

So these things above are scorpios faves and dislikes. I can say 4/7 of those favorite things are true. I do like spicy food (to a certain limit). But damn my boyfriend likes his food even more spicy. You can imagine how difficult it is to cook together and decide how spicy it should be. One time we made tikka masala (which is one of our favorite foods) and it ended being too spicy that I couldn't eat it.  Whether it's groceries or buying for example beauty products I do prefer organic and local ingredients. Even though it might be a little more expensive I don't mind it cause it's much nicer to know what's in your moisturizer. I do love wireless things. Since I started using bluetooth headphones I can't go back to normal ones. I love that your not restricted by some cord.  I am fascinated by unique objects. I may not own them but I have an appreciation to one-of-a-kind objects.

But for the things I hate. They are all accurate. Personal questions are in the middle cause if it's a person I have known for a long time it's okay. But I'm probably not gonna tell much to a total stranger.  Living at someone else's house. Damn! That is 100% accurate. Don't get me wrong I like visiting and sleeping over at friends/families places. But still, it's not home. I have the certain amount of thing with me and that's it. You can't imagine how many times I've been back at my childhood town and our friends want to go out for a drinks and all I have is some jeans and a random t-shirt that is not okay. I like being home cause I have 100% control of where everything is and what I'm doing.

But let's get more into the personality traits.

"Be warned: Scorpios can focus on one subject to an extreme, so you may be in for a deeper dive than you expect—or want! But their natural charisma can quickly pique your interest in the topic, too."

When I read that I just couldn't help but to laugh my butt off. One of those things is Supernatural. I'm currently on season 13 with my boyfriend. But because we can only watch it on weekends I decided to start watching them from the beginning. That was on September 16th. Now one month and 4 days later I'm currently on season 6. I didn't realize that until one night I started to wander when I started watching it. So yeah...I basically watched about five 45 minute episodes a day. But to be clear I don't just sit and watch them. I use it as a backround noise when I'm alone. 

"You love mysteries and the supernatural."
 "You are fascinated by secrets and mysteries and unanswered questions of any kind"

 I have been urban exploring a few places. I've always been fascinated by abandoned buildings. Even though they kinda creep me out. Especially at night time. I even explored my old elementary school after it had been shut down. Ah the memories! When I was younger I always watched The Most Haunted on TV. Of course I knew that they were "fake" but still. I like to watch conspiracy theories and sometimes document about mysteries. One of my favorite person who makes conspiracy theories is Shane Dawson. 

"Your sense of humor tends toward sarcasm and irony."

My humor is many things. But yeah sarcasm is at the top of the list. Sometimes it's hard especially around new people to be sarcastic cause they may not know that I'm joking. Fortunately in my friend group our humors match so it's not a problem. 


"...go out of your way to create a plush and comfortable atmosphere around you."

 I love everything soft and fluffy. From pillows to my favorite morning robe. In decor I do like that rough and industrial feel. But if I had to choose I would love to live on a soft and fluffy pillow.  

"Unlike other signs, you don’t mind being alone. In fact, you savor it."

When I was 17 and I moved on my own I was so happy. Cause I've been sharing my room with my little brother for all my life and I finally had my own place. Even now when I live with my boyfriend I do love my alone time. As much as I like spending time with everyone but after a weekend full of socializing I like to have a moment of alone time and recharge.

As a water sign, many Scorpios tend to live near water, which helps soothe your intense moods. If you don’t, bring its “flowy” feel into your home with an aquarium or a Zen fountain. ...keep signs of life throughout your home. Bowls of fresh fruit, lots of plants and even pets do wonders for your perspective. 

Water has to be one of my favorite elements. As a kid I loved swimming and playing in the water. Don't get me wrong I still love swimming. When I can't sleep I usually put a soundtrack of waves to help me fall asleep. One of my goals would be living right next to the sea or lake. Or even have a cottage near the lake.  I do in fact have a fountain in my balcony. Which is now on a winter holiday cause it's too cold for it. And for plants I do have them..a lot. Since my decor is mostly white and grey it is nice to have some greenery also. Or that's what I tell everyone.   

Those are just a few things I gathered here. There was much more but this post would've taken ages to finish. If you guys want to get you own birth chart that tells you a lot about your horoscope than just click here.

Till next time.
-Johanna

torstai 18. lokakuuta 2018

10 YEARS FROM NOW

Hello ! 

Now that I'm 21 (turning 22 in three weeks ?!) one of the most asked questions I get: "So, what do you wanna do when your grown up?" I am at the same time frustrated and scared of that question. 

"Little" backstory (yeah brace yourself). After 9th grade when we have to choose do we want go to high school or vocational school. I had no idea what I wanted to do. At that time I wanted to become a interior designer. But I decided to go to high school to get my grades a little higher. Well in those three years at school I wasn't sure if I wanted to become a designer anymore (I realized I needed math and tbh I suck at that). 

After high school I still didn't know what I wanted to do. So I applied to a three totally different schools. Tourism, cosmetologist and the one where I could build theater props. And I got accepted in the study of tourism. During that time I got a chance to do a trainee program at Levi, Lapland. I didn't even think twice going there. Even though it was over 800 km from home. It was three months including christmas and new year. So you can guess it was filled with a lot of tourist from all over the world. I worked in Levi Hotel Spa which had a spa, cafe and bowling alley downstairs. I loved every moment of it! The people, the atmosphere, the snow. I would go there again if I had the opportunity to do so. 

Scenery from my window in Lapland. 

After a year of studying tourism I felt unmotivated. Like it wasn't for me. So one day in class I started looking different schools. Mostly in the beauty industry. That day I applied to a school to become a hairstylist. I got into the entrance exam and there I had to roll the hair,  do a braid and so on. After the interview I wasn't 100% sure if I could make it in to the school. But that summer I got an email saying "congratulations, you have been chosen" and I was over the moon. 

18 months flew quickly and now I am officially a hairstylist. I worked in a salon for the summer and now I'm currently continuing my study in tourism and I'm graduating this christmas. While I'm studying I'm also working as a barista. And every time I meet new people or start a new job and people ask me about my education. And I tell them all of the above. 

I'm 21 and I have a matriculation examination and a degree in hair and tourism. People are usually surprised about that. So that leads to people asking: 

"Which job you want to do?"  "Are you become a traveling hairstylist haha". HAHAHAHAH...no.

Wanna know? I still don't know. I know I love doing hair and makeup. I know I love tourism in a form of traveling. I love all my 35 plants I have at my apartment. Do I want to work with plants? Maybe. I love social media and posting there. Do I wanna work somewhere in social media. Most likely. 

In ten years I will be 32. I may not know what job I will be doing.  But I know that I won't be working in grocery stores check out. I will work in something that I truly like. Somewhere between beauty, plants and social media. When I'm 32 I probably will not be living in a apartment building. I would love to have a house which I can design and decorate how I want (of course my boyfriend (or husband at that time) will have his own opinions about decor: NO MORE PLANTS!) Meanwhile I'm currently trying to grow 18 chilies in my kitchen. But I'm not sure where we would live. Near the capital or back at our childhood town, who knows. But one thing I want to have in our home. A nice backyard, you know the one that isn't 2 meter from the other house and everyone can see there. 
Do I have kids when I'm 32? I guess? I love kids (well when they're not acting out and throwing legos) but the idea of being pregnant kinda scares me. 

But mostly I want to be enjoying my life. I want to travel the world with my man. I don't want to have 9 to 5 office job. That's the life I want to have in 10 years. 


- Johanna


     

keskiviikko 17. lokakuuta 2018

FOGGY FEELINGS

Good evening everyone !

It has been a year since I wrote here. Yesterday when I was filming a vlog on my channel I made a promise. I promised myself that I will start filming more videos. Because I love making videos. And today while I was editing I saw the bookmark to my blog. I remember when I used to write here (well not this blog but one of my old blogs) almost daily. And I loved writing here. 

I wonder where all that passion went?


Did I let school/work to rule my day? 
Was I lazy? Was I tired?
Did I spent my day being unproductive while I could've been writing or filming? 

Answer to all of those is yes. I did let school to rule my day "Because my school day would take almost 12 hours of my day" in the worst scenario. I was lazy " 'Cause I had a exhausting day at work". I spent my days off playing games and watching youtube " 'Cause I have nothing else to do". 

I let my everyday life to fill my brain. All I could think how much time I would spent at school or work tomorrow. My creativity has plummeted and I have a hard time to think new makeup looks to film. And why? 'Cause I haven't been playing with makeup because I think I don't have time. 

This summer and fall I have juggled two jobs at a same time. Which made me think that the days when i don't have work I will spend doing nothing.  So I did nothing.  


But from this day forward I want to write more. I want to film more. I want get my creativity back.

And I decided to take a blog challenge for the next 15 days. Usually they are 30 days but I decided to cut it down so there isn't that much pressure. And so I don't get bored which could happen also. 

By the way. All of the pictures here I took today on my way to work. It has been mega foggy for the past weeks here. But I'm so happy that the fall is here. I love the dark nights and streets that are fully covered in colorful leaves. Also it's time to splurge on candles. 

See ya tomorrow !
 - Johanna


tiistai 26. syyskuuta 2017

LAKE BODOM

Hey guys!

Last Sunday my boyfriend and I decided to do a little fall photoshoot. I also filmed a behind the scenes video on my Youtube channel if you want to check it out!

We decided to go to lake Bodom. Some of you may have heard about it. In 1960 there were four teenagers camping and at night three of them were brutally killed. And the killer wasn't never caught. It is one of the biggest unsolved crimes in Finland. And in 2016 Taneli Mustonen directed a horror movie based on the murders of lake Bodom.

But enough about those horrible things. Let's get back on the topic.


We wanted to find a spot with orange and brown leaves to make it really feel like fall. Unfortunately the lake was pretty much surrounded by houses and golf courses so we couldn't get near the lake. So we parked near the golf course and took our pictures there.
We didn't really have time to plan the photoshoot cause we had only few hours until the sun sets below the horizon.


Also by the way that's a wig. It is by Evahair and you can check them out here. (This is not sponsored or anything, just putting that out there). I'm trying to grow out my hair but it's a very long project. 

Fall has to be one of my favorite season. I love how everything is so colorful and the air is so crisp. Perfect excuse to just stay under the blankets and watch Netflix am I right? 

Tell me, what is your favorite thing about fall?

Untill next time.

Johanna
xoxo


maanantai 25. syyskuuta 2017

WELCOME TO MY WORLD

Greetings stranger!

Maybe you found this blog by accident (accidents can be happy too, this is one of them). Maybe you heard about this through my other social medias. Or you wanted to find something new to read, and here you are. Either way, welcome!

I used to have a blog few years ago, but then I started to focus more on Youtube so I started to neglect the blog. But lets not dwell on that, here I am again. Yes in a different language but here I am. (My old blog was in finnish).

Okay, you may still be wondering who I am. I don't blame you. I didn't say much about myself on the description box. So allow me to properly introduce myself. 

Hi! My name is Johanna and I'm 20 years old. I study to become a hairdresser or hairstylist whatever you wanna call it. Before that I studied tourism, I still need to study it one year to get my degree. But I will do it after I graduate from Unika (my school). I live in the southern Finland, I have only about 15 kilometers to the coast (fun fact: Sound of waves relaxes and centers me). Before I moved to the coast I used to live in Lahti, some of the finns called it the Chicago of Finland. 


Some of my interest include makeup and photography. I started doing makeup about four years ago and being doing it ever since. Of course there are some time periods when I don't do them but I don't want to force it. Me and my boyfriend like to photograph, he likes to take pictures and I like to make videos. (Sounds like a good match am I right). I've been doing videos for about three years I guess can't really remember. If you want to see glimpse of my everyday life in a video form just click my picture on the right and it will take you to my channel. (I know I make videos in finnish so foreign people may not understand, sorry for that).

Also I have a bucket list which has over thousand things on it, so if you want to see me complete my goals in life be sure to add this page to your bookmarks or click on the "read" button on the right to become a reader of my blog. But most importantly I will post about my everyday life and shenanigans. 

Untill next time.

Johanna
xoxo